Iggy Pop and John Frusciante to appear on new Le Butcherettes album

The Mexican punk trio release their third album 'A Raw Youth' on September 18

Iggy Pop and former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante will appear on the new album by Le Butcherettes.

The Mexican punk trio release ‘A Raw Youth’ on September 18 via Ipecac Recordings. The album follows their 2011 debut ‘Sin Sin Sin’ and last year’s ‘Cry Is For The Flies.’ All three albums to date have been produced by The Mars Volta’s Omar Rodriguez-Lopez.

BLOG: Iggy Pop’s John Peel Lecture: 5 Things We Learned

The band will support the new release with an extensive US tour alongside the Melvins throughout June and July.

‘A Raw Youth’ tracklist:

‘Shave The Pride’
‘My Mallely’
‘Reason to Die Young’
‘La Uva (feat. Iggy Pop)’
‘Sold Less Than Gold’
‘Stab My Back’
‘They F**k You Over’
‘Witchless C Spot’
‘The Hitch Hiker’
‘Lonely & Drunk’
‘Oil The Shoe If The Critter Knew Any Better’
‘My Half (feat. John Frusciante)’

Former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante recently said in a new interview that he has stopped making music for other people and is instead recording with “no intention of releasing” the end product.

Frusciante released an eight-track acid-house record under the name Trickfinger in April. Frusciante, who twice served as a member of the Red Hot Chili Peppers (1988-1992 and 1998-2009), recently told Electronic Beats that he never intended to release the LP and is more concerned with the creative part of the process.

Meanwhile, Iggy Pop recently teamed up with Japanese guitarist Tomoyasu Hotei on new single ‘How The Cookie Crumbles’.

The single was released today (June 15) via Spinefarm Records and is taken from Hotei’s new album, due for release later this year. Hotei is best known for his song ‘Battle Without Honor Or Humanity’, the theme from Quentin Tarantino’s Kill Bill. Listen to ‘How The Cookie Crumbles’ here.