Listen to Iggy Pop and William Shatner sing ‘Silent Night’

Taken from the upcoming festive album 'Shatner Claus'

Iggy Pop and William Shatner have shared their cover of ‘Silent Night’, ahead of the release of the latter’s Christmas album.

‘Shatner Claus – The Christmas Album’ will be the actor’s first-ever festive record and will feature him singing Christmas classics with the help of some special guests. Henry Rollins, ZZ Top‘s Billy Gibbons, Rick Wakeman, and more are all confirmed to appear on the album.

The record will be released on October 26, via Cleopatra Records. Previously, Shatner has released a David Bowie covers album, ‘Seeking Major Tom’, and a prog-rock concept album, titled ‘Ponder The Mystery’, for the label. Listen to ‘Silent Night’ below.


The full tracklist for ‘Shatner Claus – The Christmas Album’ is as follows:

‘Jingle Bells’ (feat. Henry Rollins)
‘Blue Christmas’ (feat. Brad Paisley)
‘Little Drummer Boy’ (feat. Joe Louis Walker)
‘Winter Wonderland’ (feat. Todd Rundgren and Artimus Pyle of Lynyrd Skynyrd)
‘Twas The Night Before Christmas’ (feat. Mel Collins of King Crimson)
‘Run Rudolph Run’ (feat. Elliot Easton of The Cars)
‘O Come, O Come Emmanuel’ (feat. Rick Wakeman of Yes)
‘Silver Bells’ (feat. Ian Anderson of Jethro Tull)
‘One For You, One For Me’
‘Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer’ (feat. Billy Gibbons of ZZ Top)
‘Silent Night’ (feat. Iggy Pop)
‘White Christmas’ (feat. Judy Collins)
‘Feliz Navidad’ (feat. Dani Bander)
‘Jingle Bells’ (feat. Henry Rollins – punk rock version)

Meanwhile, Pop reunited with Josh Homme and Arctic Monkeys‘ Matt Helders for a ‘Post Pop Depression’ set at Foo Fighters‘ CalJam Festival earlier this month. The trio, plus Queens Of The Stone Age‘s Dean Fertita, worked together on the punk icon’s 2016 album.

Alongside ‘Post Pop Depression’ album tracks, the band also worked in Iggy fan favourites including ‘Lust For Life’, ‘Sister Midnight’, Funtime’, ‘The Passenger’ and ‘China Girl’.