Imogen Heap announces release of new album ‘Sparks’ in March 2014

Singer wants fans to send in their footprints for the cover of the album's deluxe edition

Imogen Heap has announced the release of her fourth studio album.

Titled ‘Sparks’, the album will be released on March 3, 2014 on RCA Records. The standard edition contains 14 brand new tracks while the deluxe box set edition adds a host of bonus material including music videos, a 120-page coffee table book and a special deck of playing cards which unlock exclusive web content.

The singer is asking fans who pre-order the deluxe box set edition to send in pictures of their footprints, which will then be used to help create its cover. The deluxe box set will be released one week earlier than the standard edition on February 24, 2014.

Heap explained in a press statement: “The album began with someone sending in the sound of a striking match for what became [new song] ‘Lifeline’ in March 2011. I then dived into the most immense, intense creative two and a half years of my life that took me all over the planet, collaborating on so many projects with so many people and often totally spontaneously. The album is then in some ways for me grounded with fans’ footprints bringing the finishing touch for the album art, as so many of them came along for the ride.”

Meanwhile, Heap is claiming that one song from the album, ‘The Listening Chair’, will never be finished. The track apparently covers the first 35 years of the singer’s life in five minutes and she intends to add to it every seven years with another minute of a cappella song.

Heap’s last album, ‘Ellipse’, came out in 2009 and peaked at Number Five on the US Billboard 200 and Number 39 on the UK’s Official Albums Chart.

The ‘Sparks’ tracklisting in full:

‘You Know Where to Find Me’
‘The Listening Chair’
‘Cycle Song’
‘Neglected Space’
‘Minds Without Fear’
‘Me The Machine’
‘Climb To Sakteng’
‘The Beast’
‘Xizi She Knows’
‘Propeller Seeds’