Iron and Wine join forces with Band of Horses for covers LP

'Sing Into My Mouth' is set for release this summer

Iron & Wine‘s Sam Beam has joined forces with Band Of Horses‘ Ben Bridwell for a covers LP entitled ‘Sing Into My Mouth’.

The LP will be released this summer and is named after the Talking Heads song ‘This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)’, which features on the record. Covers of Sade’s ‘Bulletproof Soul’ and El Perro del Mar’s ‘God Knows (You Gotta Give to Get)’ also feature, as does ‘The Straight and Narrow’ originally by Spiritualized, and ‘Done This One Before’ by Ronnie Lane, as well as ‘There’s No Way Out of Here’, originally by Unicorn but also the lead single from David Gilmour’s 1978 solo debut. Scroll down for a full tracklisting.

Speaking about the project, Bridwell states: “As excited as I was at the prospect of finally working together, I was unsure of the possibility of us both finding the time. Luckily for me, Sam was persistent with the idea of recording some of our favorite tunes that we’d always wanted to cover. This is truly a ‘full circle’ moment for me… I’ve always wanted us to sing together and finally I have that dream realized. I couldn’t be more excited to continue this project at the upcoming shows to take it even further while playing some of our original songs together.”


Beam adds: “Ben and I started our careers together and had been threatening to work with one another for years. When we finally conceived of the covers project and carved out some time, it was nostalgic and fun from top to bottom – the process of picking the songs to cover was really reminiscent of more than 15 years ago when we used to mail each other cassettes and CDs of music we were into – and the end of every recording day found us cutting up with friends the way we used to when we’d cross paths in South Carolina. He’s always been one of the funniest people I know.” The duo will perform together at the Newport Folk Festival in July.

The ‘Sing Into My Mouth’ tracklisting is:

‘This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)’ (Talking Heads)
‘Done This One Before’ (Ronnie Lane)
‘Any Day Woman’ (Bonnie Raitt)
‘You Know Me More Than I Know’ (John Cale)
‘Bulletproof Soul’ (Sade)
‘There’s No Way Out of Here’ (Unicorn)
‘God Knows (You Gotta Give to Get)’ (El Perro del Mar)
‘The Straight and Narrow’ (Spiritualized)
‘Magnolia’ (JJ Cale)
‘Am I a Good Man?’ (Them Two)
‘Ab’s Song’ (Marshall Tucker Band)
‘Coyote, My Little Brother’ (Pete Seeger)