Iron And Wine to release rarities album

Double disc collection includes New Order and Flaming Lips' covers

Iron & Wine is to release a two-disc rarities album this June.

‘Around The Well’ is a collection of Sam Beam‘s rare tracks, ranging from out of print to previously unreleased material. The collection will be released on June 1.

The songs on ‘Around The Well’ date back to Iron & Wine‘s earliest recordings (some of which yielded the band’s 2002 debut ‘The Creek Drank The Cradle’), through to material recorded for 2007’s ‘The Shepherd’s Dog’.


The collection is divided into two discs, with the first half an assortment of unedited home recordings, while the second half features studio recorded songs.

Among the tracks featured on the discs are covers of The Flaming Lips‘Waiting For A Superman’ and New Order‘s ‘Love Vigilantes’.

The tracklisting for ‘Around The Well’ is:

Disc One
‘Dearest Forsaken’
‘Loud as Hope’
‘Peng! 33’
‘Sacred Vision’
‘Friends They Are Jewels’
‘Waitin’ for a Superman’
‘Swans And The Swimming’
‘Call Your Boys’
‘Such Great Heights’

Disc Two
‘Communion Cups & Someone’s Coat’
‘Belated Promise Ring’
‘God Made The Automobile’
‘Homeward, These Shoes’
‘Love Vigilantes’
‘Sinning Hands’
‘No Moon’
‘Serpent Charmer’
‘Carried Home’
‘Kingdom Of The Animals’
‘Arms of a Thief’
‘The Trapeze Swinger’

Beam is currently working on the follow up to ‘The Shepherd’s Dog’.


Kevin Smith: “I’m the world’s biggest Kevin Smith fan”

The beloved cult filmmaker reflects on an extraordinary career

The Best Films of the Decade: The 2010s

As chosen by NME

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s