Iron Maiden preview ‘The Book Of Souls’ album with first new single in five years – listen

Metal band return with new song 'Speed of Light'

Iron Maiden have revealed new song ‘Speed Of Light’, their first single in five years.

The metal band will release new album ‘The Book Of Souls’ in September. Recording of the album was delayed after frontman Bruce Dickinson was diagnosed with cancer. Dickinson was recently given the all-clear after treatment.

Dickinson was diagnosed with a cancerous growth on the back of his tongue in February and underwent a seven-week course of radiotherapy and chemotherapy treatment.

The LP – which was recorded in Paris – will be Iron Maiden’s first ever double album and comes out on September 4. It will comprise 11 tracks and totals 92 minutes. It was made with regular producer Kevin Shirley and is their first album since 2010’s ‘The Final Frontier’.

NMEAndy Ford/NME
Steve Harris of Iron Maiden

‘The Book Of Souls” tracklisting is:

Disc 1
‘If Eternity Should Fail’
‘Speed Of Light’
‘The Great Unknown’
‘The Red And The Black’
‘When The River Runs Deep’
‘The Book Of Souls’

Disc 2
‘Death Or Glory’
‘Shadows Of The Valley’
‘Tears Of A Clown’
‘The Man Of Sorrows’
‘Empire Of The Clouds’

Iron Maiden manager Rod Smallwood said Dickinson’s recovery meant the band would be unable to play any shows until 2016.

SEE ALSO: Iron Maiden’s Bruce Dickinson invests in ‘world’s biggest aircraft’