Third Man announce new Sun Records re-issues

Jack White's label will be releasing 7" records by DA Hunt, Roy Orbision and Jerry Lee Lewis

Jack White‘s Third Man Records have announced the next titles in their series of re-issues from the legendary Sun Records’ back catalogue.

The three new 7″ releases come in the shape of bluesman DA Hunt’s 1953 recording ‘Lonesome Old Jail’ b/w ‘Greyhound Blues’, Roy Orbison and the Teen Kings’ 1956 release ‘Rockhouse’ b/w ‘You’re My Baby’ and Jerry Lee Lewis’ ‘Great Balls of Fire’ b/w ‘You Win Again’.

The DA Hunt release is “the first legitimate release of Hunt’s material on a 7″ record”. A rare copy of the single was sold on eBay in 2010 for $10,323. For more information on the releases, visit

The releases follow this summer’s first three offerings from Sun’s iconic back catalogue via Third Man; Johnny Cash‘s 1956 single ‘Get Rhythm’, Rufus Thomas’ ‘Bear Cat’ and The Prisonaires’ ‘Just Walking In The Rain’.

The Third Man blog says of the Sun re-issues: “This will be an ongoing partnership between Sun and Third Man and future releases are already in the works… Each release remains faithful to its original issue on Sun, replicating the classic logo and label design coupled with a striking Sun company sleeve that dutifully employs the rooster Sam Philips lamented losing as labels switched from 78’s to 45’s.”