The Dead Weather return with new single ‘Open Up (That’s Enough)’ – listen

Jack White teases 2015 return from The Dead Weather plus Raconteurs live album in Third Man Vaults release

The Dead Weather and The Raconteurs are both set to release new material through Jack White’s Third Man Records.

The bands, both of whom Jack White plays with, will both release new music via the subscription only Third Man Vault package. The Dead Weather will release new songs ‘Open Up (That’s Enough)’ and ‘Rough Detective’ in what will become a series of single releases lasting up to the release of a new album by the band in 2015. The songs will be available digitally after the vinyl release.

The new album will be the first new material from the band, which also features The Kills‘ Alison Mosshart and Dean Fertita of Queens Of The Stone Age, since they released ‘Sea Of Cowards’ in 2010. A preview of ‘Open Up (That’s Enough)’ can be heard below. A statement from the label on the singles series claims the songs “are unlike anything else the band has ever done and are both ample reminders of the ferocity of this motley collection of low-lifes, grifters and ne’er-do-wells. These songs are not throw-aways. These songs are not demos. These songs are not outtakes”.

Meanwhile, The Raconteurs, White’s group with Brendan Benson and Patrick Keeler will release ‘Live At The Ryman Auditorium’. The 13-song set was recorded in Nashville in September 2011 and will be available on both vinyl and DVD. See below for the vinyl tracklist.

‘Live At The Ryman Auditorium’ tracklist

‘Consoler Of The Lonely’
‘Old Enough’
‘Top Yourself’
‘Many Shades Of Black’
‘The Switch And The Spur’
‘Intimate Secretary’
‘Broken Boy Soldier’
‘Blue Veins’
‘Salute Your Solution’
‘Steady, As She Goes’
‘Carolina Drama’

As previously reported, White’s Third Man Records are to co-release Paramount Records’ back catalogue on vinyl, starting from this month. Established in 1917, Paramount Records was home to artists such as Louis Armstrong, Ma Rainey, Fletcher Henderson, Blind Lemon Jefferson, Jelly Roll Morton, King Oliver and Ethel Walters. Third Man will release a comprehensive 800-song collection of the label’s material from its first decade in existence titled ‘The Rise And Fall Of Paramount Records, Volume One (1917-27)’ on October 29.