Jake Bugg announces release details of new album

Third LP ‘On My One’ is due out this summer

Jake Bugg’s third album has been given a confirmed June release date.

The singer-songwriter who yesterday revealed the second track from the album ‘Gimme The Love’ on BBC Radio 1’s Annie Mac show also has a string of London dates confirmed, as well as a home-town show in Nottingham.

The album, slated for release on June 17, is produced mostly by Bugg with the help of Jacknife Lee on three tracks, boasts the same title as a song Bugg released for free earlier this month. The title comes from a Nottingham saying, which Bugg says is fitting for the album: “In a lot of ways it sums up this record because it mainly has been on my own.”


Bugg takes full credit for the writing on the album as well as the majority of production and instrumental. Bugg said: “I saw this as the logical next step in my development as a songwriter. It was a challenge but something I felt I had to do.”

Read more: Jake Bugg says his new songs are ‘darker’ than his previous material

‘On My One’ was recorded in London, Los Angeles and Nottingham. The album is said to have a bluesy touch with Bugg saying: “Blues is my favourite genre. Whether it’s soul or hip hop, it all stems from the blues. To me the blues just means singing your emotions and expressing your pain so others can feel it. That’s the beauty of music. If nothing else, I’d like to think I’ve done that with this record.”

Bugg’s 2012 self-titled debut went double platinum and his follow-up ‘Shangri La’ went into the top five in 2013.

The album is available for pre-order now.

‘On My One’ tracklist:
On My One
Gimme The Love
Love, Hope and Misery
The Love We’re Hoping For
Put Out The Fire
Never Wanna Dance
Bitter Salt
Ain’t No Rhyme
Livin’ Up Country
All That
‘Hold On You’

Tour dates on sale March 2
East London, Village Underground (March 7)
North London, Tufnell Park Dome (8)
South London, Brixton Electric (10)
West London, Bush Hall (11)
Nottingham, Sherwood Pines Forest (June 23)