James to release first album in six years next month

'La Petite Mort' will be supported by a to-be-announced arena tour

James are set to release their first album in six years next month.

‘La Petite Mort’ is set for release on June 2 and was produced by Max Dingel (The Killers, Muse). It follows the band’s 10th studio album ‘Hey Ma’, which was released in 2008, and 2010’s EPs ‘The Night Before’ and ‘The Morning After’. ‘La Petite Mort’ was written by the band’s frontman Tim Booth after the deaths of his mother and best friend. See the album’s artwork above.

The album will feature the single ‘Moving On’ and ‘Frozen Britain’, both of which can be heard below. The record will be released by BMG Chrysalis and Cooking Vinyl. It will be supported by a sold out Summer in the City gig at Manchester’s Castlefield Bowl on July 11 with special guests Starsailor, and a set at Camp Bestival on August 1. The band are also due to announce a UK arena tour.

To check the availability of James tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0844 858 6765