James Blake releases new song ‘Timeless’ ahead of his new album

Blake premiers new track on his Radio 1 residency

James Blake’s long awaited new album is finished and ready to release, he has told Radio 1.

In a stint as surprise host on the station today, he admitted that the hotly anticipated follow-up to his Mercury Award-winning 2013 album ‘Overgrown’ was done at last. He said it contains 18 tracks, including one that weighs in at 20 minutes in length.

Blake also gave the audience an exclusive first listen to a new track off the album, called ‘Timeless’, which you can hear below.

Called ‘Radio Silence’, the new record is said to feature the diverse likes of both Kanye West and Justin Vernon from Bon Iver as guest contributors, as well as guitars from New Zealand alt-R’n’B artist Connan Mockasin. ‘Timeless’ isn’t the first new material Blake has released, either, following ‘Modern Soul’, which was also previewed on his Radio 1 residency.

The 27-year-old shot to prominence in 2011 upon the release of his self-titled debut, which was also nominated for a Mercury Award that year. Since then, he’s won a Grammy for best new artist in 2014, and even scored a Brit Award nomination for best solo British male.

‘Radio Silence’, Blake’s third studio album, will be out later this year, with the exact date still to be confirmed.