Jamie Woon announces new album ‘Making Time’ – watch live video ‘Message’ now

Woon released his debut album 'Mirrorwriting' in 2011

Jamie Woon has announced that his second album ‘Making Time’ will be released on November 6.

The album follows his 2011 debut ‘Mirrorwriting’. Released via PMR Records, ‘Making Time’ features collaborations with Willy Mason, Royce Wood Junior and Robin Hannibal. It has been co-produced by Woon and Wild Beasts producer Lexx.

Woon revealed the news with a video of new track ‘Message’ recorded in session. Watch the video below:


In a press release, Woon explained why there had been a four year gap between his albums.

“Each project takes as long as it takes. It’s quite common for me to start a song and then sit on it for 2 years before I finish it. I used to feel a lot of guilt about how long things take, but I’ve made peace with that. Part of the reason this record took so long is that I wanted to feel like a new person, releasing a new record.

Yesterday Gilles Peterson revealed a new track from the album, playing ‘Thunder’ on his BBC 6Music radio show.

Last month Disclosure debuted a track from the new album on Annie Mac’s Radio 1 show. Playing ‘Sharpness’, the duo confirmed Woon is now signed to the same label as them, PMR. Pharrell Williams went on to play ‘Sharpness’ in full on a Beats 1 show he presented alongside Justin Timberlake and Cara Delevigne.

“I’m really inspired by D’Angelo’s ‘Voodoo’ and having the band in the room,” Woon explained. “It’s a dying art trying to record live players because it costs money to do it properly. My starting point was that I wanted to hear a funky rhythm section.”


“It’s still the same type of songs it’s just a real drummer and bass player, not electronic. I found an amazing producer called Lexx last February. He’s worked with Gwilym Gold and Wild Beasts.”

See the ‘Making Time’ track list below:

‘Little Wonder’