Jamiroquai tease second comeback track ahead of its radio premiere

Jay Kay's band return with new album 'Automaton' on March 31.

Jamiroquai have shared a teaser for the second track from their comeback album ‘Automaton’.

Jay Kay’s band posted a clip from ‘Cloud 9’ on Twitter and said the full track will premiere on Ken Bruce’s BBC Radio 2 show at 11am today (February 9). Listen below.

‘Cloud 9’ follows the album’s title track, ‘Automaton’, which was shared on January 27. The album is the band’s first since 2010’s ‘Rock Dust Light Star’.

“The inspiration for ‘Automaton’ is in recognition of the rise of artificial intelligence and technology in our world today and how we as humans are beginning to forget the more pleasant, simple and eloquent things in life and in our environment including our relationship with one another as human beings,” Jay Kay said of the new record.

Last month, the London band posted a teaser for the new album with the accompanying caption “Coming to a planet near you”.

588b1b6be2b511485511531.jpg

The band have also announced a one-off date at London’s Roundhouse venue on March 31, the day the album is released.

Jay Kay’s band previously announced a string of headline festival dates for summer 2017.

The full Jamiroquai tour schedule is as follows:

Tue 28 March – La Sall Pleyel, Paris
Fri 31 March – The Roundhouse, London
Thu May 25 2017 – Tokyo International Forum, Tokyo, Japan
Sun May 28 2017 – Seoul Jazz Festival, Seoul, South Korea
Sat June 17 2017 – Release Athens Festival, Athens, Greece
Sun June 9 2017 – North Sea Jazz, Rotherdam, Netherlands
Tue July 11 2017 – Firenze Summer Festival, Visarno Arena, Florence, Italy
Fri July 14 2017 – Pori Jazz, Pori, Finland
Sun July 16 2017 – Musilac, Aix-Les-Bains, France
Tue July 18 2017 – Moon & Stars, Locarno, Switzerland
Sat July 22 2017 – Colours of Ostrava, Czech Republic
Sat July 5 2017 – Sudoeste, Portugal

The London band released their debut album ‘Emergency On Planet Earth’ in 1993 and have notched up four UK Number One albums, nine UK Top Ten singles and total record sales of 26 million over the years.

Read more: Whisper it, Jamiroquai are cool again… here’s why