Janelle Monáe announces release date for new album ‘The Electric Lady’

Monae's second album will be released on September 10 and features a collaboration with Prince

Janelle Monae has announced that she will release her second album ‘The Electric Lady’ on September 10.

The singer made her announcement with a short Instagram video clip in which she is seen scribbling the name of the album and release date on a sheet of paper. Click here to watch it.

Monae has yet to unveil the full tracklisting but earlier this month (June) she revealed that the album will feature a collaboration with Prince. She’s also teamed up with Miguel for a track called ‘Primetime’ which feature a sample of the Pixies’ classic ‘Where Is My Mind?’.

Other tracks set to appear include ‘Dorothy Dandridge Eyes’, ‘Dance Apocalyptic’ and ‘Victory’. ‘The Electric Lady’ is Monae’s follow-up to her acclaimed 2010 debut album ‘The ArchAndroid’. In April of this year, Monae debuted the first single from ‘The Electric Lady’ – a collaboration with Erykah Badu titled ‘QUEEN’. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click to listen.