Janet Jackson reveals details of new album ‘Unbreakable’

Singer's long-awaited comeback LP is out on October 2

Janet Jackson has revealed details of her long-awaited comeback album ‘Unbreakable’.

The LP, which will be the singer’s 11th studio album and her first since 2008’s ‘Discipline’, will be released on October 2, with both the single ‘No Sleeep’ featuring J Cole and the Missy Elliott collaboration ‘Burnitup!’ set to feature. You can see the album’s artwork below.


In a press release published online, Jackson’s team outlined some of the album’s lyrical concerns. “Themes will include, Janet’s views on where we stand today as individuals and as the inter-related elements of a planet,” it says. “Some of these relate to her convictions passionately expressed in ‘…Rhythm Nation 1814’, including the need to bring things out in the open and to have a dialogue.


“The album also will mark the first time Janet Jackson has opened up about her brother Michael and with reflections concerning her youth. Inherent in this music will be her feeling that we must learn to celebrate life and the things each of us experiences and endures and how that process can make each person stronger. The album, she assures her fans, contains messages and observations throughout, that are based on the fact that Janet Jackson has lived a lot of life.”

Jackson will also work again with producer-songwriter team Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis on the LP. Speaking about their relationship with Jackson, they said: “It’s wonderful to be creating again with Janet. From songwriting, producing, arranging, singing, dancing, acting, she deftly does it all and truly personifies the word artist. Unbreakable is a gift to all of her fans who have steadfastly stood by her. It is a subject for conversation, a plea for compassion, and a call for action from someone who’s come a long way, but’s got a long way to go, and has much to say about it. In other words, if you want to know what’s on her mind you only have to listen.”

The full tracklisting for ‘Unbreakable’ is as follows:

‘Burnitup!’ (feat. Missy Elliott)
‘Dammn Baby’
‘The Great Forever’
‘Shoulda Known Better’
‘After You Fall’
‘Broken Hearts Heal’
‘No Sleep’ (feat. J Cole)
‘Dream Maker/Euphoria’
‘2 B Loved’
‘Take Me Away’
‘Lessons Learned’
‘Black Eagle’
‘Well Traveled’
‘Gon B Alright’