Jarvis Cocker, Jeffrey Lewis give away new tracks on Record Store Day release

Mystery Jets, Little Joy and British Sea Power are also on the release

Rough Trade Records artists including Jarvis Cocker, Jeffrey Lewis, God Help The Girl and Mystery Jets are giving away new and rare songs via a ‘C86’-style cassette tape this weekend (April 18).

The tape – called ‘C09’ – is being released as part of Record Store Day which takes place across the UK in hundreds of independent record shops tomorrow.

Featuring unreleased songs from Cocker and Lewis, the tape also contains rare tracks from Mystery Jets, British Sea Power and Micachu.


Belle & Sebastian leader Stuart Murdoch‘s new project God Help The Girl premiere new song ‘Musician, Please Take Heed’ on the tape, while Super Furry Animals, Little Joy, The Veils and The Hold Steady are also included on the release.

The ‘C86’ tape was a legendary mixtape-style release compiled by Rough Trade and NME, given away free with the magazine in 1986.

The tracklisting for ‘C09’ is:

Side 1:
Jarvis Cocker – ‘Angela’
Miracle Fortress – ‘Have You Seen In Your Dreams’
Micachu – ‘Lips (Clark Kunt’s Heavy Mental Mix)’
Jeffrey Lewis – ‘Whistle Past the Graveyard’
Arthur Russell – ‘Love Is Overtaking Me’
Little Joy – ‘Brand New Start’
God Help The Girl – ‘Musician, Please Take Heed’
The Decemberists – ‘The Rake’s Song’

Side 2:
Super Furry Animals – ‘Inaugural Trams’
The Veils – ‘Three Sisters’
Antony And The Johnsons – ‘Shake That Devil’
Mystery Jets – ‘Inbetween Days’
1990s – ‘The Box’
The Hold Steady – ‘Sequestered In Memphis’
British Sea Power – ‘The Great Skua’

Other acts releasing exclusive material specifically for Record Store Day include Graham Coxon and Tom Waits.


The Best Films of the Decade: The 2010s

As chosen by NME

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts