Jay-Z declares T In The Park a ‘home from home’

Rapper makes his first apperance at the event

Jay-Z declared that the T In The Park festival felt like a “home from home” as he played this evening (July 11) on the Main Stage.

The US rapper, performing before Kasabian‘s headline slot, included the likes of ’99 Problems’, ‘Run This Town’ and ‘Big Pimpin” in his set. He was not joined by Beyonce, despite rumours about his wife possibly collaborating with him sweeping the site before he came on.

Opening with ‘Run This Town’, the rapper then launched into ‘U Don’t Know’ before tee-ed up ’99 Problems’ by telling the crowd: “This is T In The Park so we’re gonna turn it up to 99.”

Dressed all in black, along with his band, Jay-Z later declared, “You’re making me feel at home. So I’m going to return the favour and take you to my home,” before playing ‘Empire State Of Mind’ – his tribute to New York.

He led shout-out tributes to the late rappers and singers Tupac Shakur, Aaliyah and Run-DMC‘s Jam Master Jay, before finishing his set with ‘Numb/Encore’.

Jay-Z played:

‘Run This Town’
‘On To The Next One’
‘D.O.A. (Death Of Auto-Tune)’
‘U Don’t Know’
’99 Problems’
‘Is That Yo Bitch?’
‘Beware Of The Boyz’
‘I Just Wanna Love You (Give It To Me)’
‘Public Service Announcement’
‘Heart Of The City (Ain’t No Love)’
‘Empire State Of Mind’
‘A Dream’
‘Dirt Off My Shoulder’
‘Hovi Baby’
‘H To The Izzo’
‘Jigga What, Jigga Who’
‘Jockin’ Jay-Z’
‘Show Me What You Got’
‘Thank You’
‘Big Pimpin”
‘Hard Knock Life’

NME will be coming live from T In The Park throughout the weekend. Head to NME.COM/festivals/t-in-the-park for the latest festival news, pictures and information.

Plus get next week’s issue of NME – on UK newsstands from Wednesday (July 14) – for the ultimate T In The Park review.