Jay-Z joined by Mr Hudson at London Alexandra Palace show

Rapper films new music video with crowd at UK gig

Jay-Z was joined by Mr Hudson last night (November 4) at his show at the London Alexandra Palace – and the pair used the crowd to help them record a music video for ‘Young Forever’.

The British singer joined the rapper for the last song in the set, with Jay-Z declaring that the crowd was being filmed for a forthcoming promo. They responded by holding lighters in the air and singing along as the pair and Jay-Z‘s black-clad backing band performed the song.

The rendition closed Jay-Z‘s one-off sold-out gig at the UK capital which had seen him play hits including ‘Empire State Of Mind’, ‘DOA (Death Of Autotune)’ and ‘Izzo (H.O.V.A.)’.

The rapper paid tribute to the British crowd by projecting a Union Jack flag on a huge screen behind his band at points in the set. He also joked about his recent chart achievement – scoring his 11th US Number One album with ‘The Blueprint 3’.

“I want to thank anyone who bought my ‘Blueprint 3’,” he told the crowd. “My 11th number one album, surpassing Elvis Presley. I can officially say Elvis has left the building… That’s a joke.”

Later he rapped on a medley that included a snippet of ‘Crazy In Love’ by his wife Beyonce, and also stopped a version of ‘Big Pimpin” – the star making the crowd earn a restart by cheering.

Before the aforementioned set-closing ‘Young Forever’ he spent time picking out members of the crowd and thanking them – pointing out clothing they were wearing or flags they were waving to identify them.

Jay-Z played songs including:

‘What We Talkin’ About’
‘Run This Town’
‘D.O.A. (Death of Autotune)’
‘U Don’t Know’
’99 Problems’
‘Show Me What You Got’
‘Izzo (H.O.V.A.)’
‘Nigga What, Nigga Who’
‘Public Service Announcement’
‘Heart of the City (Ain’t No Love)’
‘Already Home’
‘Empire State Of Mind’
‘A Star Is Born’
‘Beware Of The Boyz’
‘Dirt Off Your Shoulder’
‘On to the Next One’
‘Excuse Me Miss’/’Crazy In Love’/Swagga Like Us/’Can I Get A’
‘Big Pimpin”
‘Hard Knock Life’
‘Young Forever’