The material that Jeff Buckley was working on at the time of his death last year will be released in May...

The late Jeff Buckley‘s final recordings will be released on Columbia Records later this year.

A 20-track double album, entitled ‘Sketches (for my sweetheart the drunk)’ will hit stores on May 5 in the US, according to Addicted To Noise. The release includes songs the singer recorded with producer Tom Verlaine from sessions in 1996 and 1997. Buckley drowned in the Mississippi River on May 29 last year.

Th track listing for the first disc, the sessions he completed with Verlaine, are: ‘The Sky Is A landfull, ‘Everybody Here Wants You’, ‘Witches’ Rave’, ‘Morning Theft’, ‘New Year’s Prayer’, ‘Yard Of Blonde Girls’, ‘Opened Once’, ‘Vancouver’, ‘Nightmares By The Sea’, and ‘You & I’.


According to a spokesperson for Columbia Records in the US, the tracks were chosen by the late singer’s friends and associates. But ATN said it was Buckley’s family who had final say on the tracklisting. However, the choice of the Verlaine-session tracks is not without controversy. Some friends of the dead singer have said that Buckley was unhappy with the material and planned a “burning party” when the sessions were completed, rather than releasing them. He was planning on re-recording much of the material.

The second disc will feature four-track material, some of it re-workings of existing material for the planned studio album ‘My Sweetheart, The Drunk’. This disc will feature ‘Nightmares By The Sea’, ‘New Year’s Prayer’, ‘Haven’t You Heard’, ‘I Know We Could Be So Happy Baby (If We Wanted To Be), ‘Murder Suicide Meteor Slave’, ‘Back In New York City’ (a cover of the Geneis track from ‘The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway’), ‘Demon John’, ‘Your Flesh Is So Nice’, ‘Jewel Box’ and ‘Satisfied Mind’.

Sources have said that the four-track material is closest to the ideas Buckley had regards to the uncompleted album.

You May Also Like




More Stories