Jenny Lewis streams new song ‘The Voyager’ – listen

It's the title track from the former Rilo Kiley frontwoman's new LP

Jenny Lewis has revealed a new song from her forthcoming album, ‘The Voyager’.

Listen to the album’s title track below. Lewis has also worked with Ryan Adams on her new album. The former Rilo Kiley singer’s third solo LP was co-produced by Ryan Adams, with Beck and Lewis’ partner Jonathan Rice producing three tracks. The album will be available in the UK on July 28. Lewis was recently added to the bill for this year’s Bestival in September.


The track follows her Beck-produced single ‘Just One Of The Guys’, which was also recorded at Beck’s Malibu studio, of which she commented: “It was one of the tunes I’d tried a few different ways before I finally recorded it with Beck at his home studio in Malibu. The whole experience was super laid-back – walking on the beach, talking about movies, The Rolling Stones and French pop music. It was just very mellow and lovely.”

‘The Voyager’ arrives six years after Lewis’ second solo album, 2008’s ‘Acid Tongue’, and four years after ‘I’m Having Fun Now’, her album with boyfriend Rice, released as Jenny And Johnny. Lewis’ solo debut ‘Rabbit Fur Coat’ was released in 2006, billed as Jenny Lewis And The Watson Twins.

Speaking to Rolling Stone, Lewis says the new album was inspired by the death of her father and the end of Rilo Kiley, a period she describes as “one of the most difficult times of my life”.

‘The Voyager’ tracklisting is:

‘Head Underwater’
‘She’s Not Me’
‘Just One Of The Guys’
‘Slippery Slopes’
‘Late Bloomer’
‘You Can’t Outrun ‘Em’
‘The New You’
‘Aloha & The Three Johns’
‘Love U Forever’
‘The Voyager’