Jenny Lewis works with Ryan Adams and Beck on solo album

Former Rilo Kiley singer says album was made during 'one of the most difficult times of my life'

Jenny Lewis has revealed that she worked on solo album ‘The Voyager’ with Ryan Adams and Beck.

The former Rilo Kiley singer’s third solo album was co-produced by Ryan Adams with Beck and Lewis’ partner Jonathan Rice producing three tracks. The album will be available in the UK on July 28. See above for the album artwork.

‘The Voyager’ arrives six years after Lewis’ second solo album, 2008’s ‘Acid Tongue’, and four years after ‘I’m Having Fun Now’, her album with boyfriend Rice, released as Jenny And Johnny. Lewis’ solo debut ‘Rabbit Fur Coat’ arrived in 2006, and was billed as Jenny Lewis And The Watson Twins.


Speaking to Rolling Stone, Lewis says the album was inspired by the death of her father and the end of Rilo Kiley, a period of her life she describes as “one of the most difficult times of my life.”

“Making The Voyager got me through one of the most difficult periods of my life,” Lewis says. “After Rilo Kiley broke up and a few really intense personal things happened, I completely melted down. It nearly destroyed me. I had such severe insomnia that, at one point, I didn’t sleep for five straight nights. Many of the songs on ‘The Voyager’ came out of the need to occupy my mind in the moments when I just couldn’t shut down.”

Earlier this year Lewis contributed a song to the latest soundtrack of HBO series Girls called ‘Completely Not Me’. This song will not feature on ‘The Voyager.’ Scroll down for the album tracklist.

‘The Voyager’:

‘Head Underwater’
‘She’s Not Me’
‘Just One of the Guys’
‘Slippery Slopes’
‘Late Bloomer’
‘You Can’t Outrun ‘Em’
‘The New You’
‘Aloha & The Three Johns’
‘Love U Forever’
‘The Voyager’