Jesse Hughes of Eagles Of Death Metal shares his cover of Mary J. Blige’s ‘Family Affair’

An unusual pick from his forthcoming covers album

Jesse Hughes, frontman of Eagles Of Death Metal, has announced a new solo covers album with his version of Mary J. Blige‘s 2001 hit ‘Family Affair’.

The album is titled ‘Eagles Of Death Metal Presents Boots Electric Performing The Best Songs We Never Wrote’, and is set for release on June 7 via UMe.


You can hear the track above, and check out the full tracklist below, which also features versions of George Michael‘s ‘Careless Whisper’ among its more unconventional picks.

Among the more expected covers are a version of ‘Long Slow Goodbye’ by Queens Of The Stone Age, whose frontman Josh Homme is a longstanding friend and occasional collaborator with Hughes.

The Distillers, whose frontwoman Brody Dalle is married to Homme, see their 2003 track ‘The Hunger’ reworked. Elsewhere there’s covers of rock and metal heavyweights like AC/DC, Guns ‘N Roses and KISS.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

  1. ‘God Of Thunder’ (originally by KISS)
  2. ‘It’s So Easy’ (originally by Guns N’ Roses)
  3. ‘High Voltage/ It’s A Long Way To The Top (If You Wanna Rock ‘N’ Roll)’ (originally by AC/DC)
  4. ‘So Alive’ (originally by Love & Rockets)
  5. ‘Beat on the Brat’ (originally by The Ramones)
  6. ‘Abracadabra’ (originally by Steve Miller Band)
  7. ‘Careless Whisper’ (originally by George Michael)
  8. ‘Family Affair’ (originally by Mary J. Blige)
  9. ‘The Hunger’ (originally by The Distillers)
  10. ‘Long Slow Goodbye’ (originally by Queens Of The Stone Age)
  11. ‘Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Is In)’ (originally by Kenny Rogers)
  12. ‘Trouble’ (originally by Cat Stevens)
  13. ‘Moonage Daydream’ (originally by David Bowie)

Last year, Eagles Of Death Metal released a limited edition LP titled ‘Pigeons Of Shit Metal’, on which a number of the same songs were covered.


Shortly after the album’s release, Hughes and the rest of Eagles of Death Metal will be hitting the UK for a pair of warm-up gigs before their slot at Download Festival.