Joanna Newsom shares ‘Sapokanikan’ video from new album ‘Divers’ – watch

Folk singer-songwriter to release first album in five years this October

American musician Joanna Newsom has confirmed details of a new album, her first in five years.

The folk singer-songwriter and harpist will release fourth LP ‘Divers’ on October 23, following 2010’s ‘Have One On Me’.

Newsom has shared the video for lead track ‘Sapokanikan’, which sees the star walking through the streets of New York. Watch below.


A press release reads: “Further along and down the road apiece from where she took her leave of us, Joanna Newsom plays on. Breathe deep and equalize your today-ears to the new world of Divers”.

Speaking to Dazed about new material last year, Newsom said: “I’ve been working hard for a lot of those five years on a new idea.”

NMELeah Pritchard/NME

The ‘Diver’’s tracklisting is as follows:

‘Leaving The City’
‘Goose Eggs’
‘Waltz Of The 101st Lightborne’
‘The Things I Say’
‘Same Old Man’
‘You Will Not Take My Heart Alive’
‘A Pin-Light Bent’
‘Time, As A Symptom’

Newsom also recently appeared in new Paul Thomas Anderson film Inherent Vice. She said of that project: “This movie was so incredibly rewarding and fun for me, and it did maybe defer some of my music work for a while, but it was totally worth it.”


Last year, Newsom married actor Andy Samberg of comedy band The Lonely Island. The pair had been dating for five years.

Joanna Newsom’s third album, ‘Have One On Me’, in 2010, followed her acclaimed 2004 debut ‘The Milk-Eyed Mender’ and 2006’s ‘Ys’.