John Grant announces new album ‘Love Is Magic’, shares ’80s-infused title track

Ahead of a scheduled UK tour in October

John Grant has announced his new album ‘Love Is Magic’ and unveiled its title track – check it out below.

The US singer-songwriter’s last album, ‘Grey Tickles, Black Pressure’, was released in 2015. NME described it as “moving, funny, unnerving and angry; one of the albums of the year.” His debut ‘Queen of Denmark’ came in 2010, followed by ‘Pale Green Ghosts’ in 2013.

Now, Grant has shared news of his fourth studio effort, which he co-produced alongside Midlake’s Paul Alexander.


Describing the upcoming release, Grant says: “Love’s a shitshow that requires work. It’s not all lollipops and rainbows and ’67 Dodge Dart Hemis and STD’s and macaroni and cheese and John Carpenter. But nothing can distract from the fact that, in spite of it all, love is still magic.”

The six-and-a-half-minute title track opens with pulsing synth brass and crashing drums. The colourful lyric video features the lines “Have you got depression? / Passive aggression? /Did they stop loving you / And you’re the only one who doesn’t know?”

‘Love Is Magic’ is released October 12 on Partisan Records and Bella Union. It features track titles such as ‘Metamorphosis’, ‘Smug Cunt’ and ‘Diet Gum’. Check out the full tracklist below.

‘Love Is Magic’
‘Preppy Boy’
‘Smug Cunt’
‘He’s Got His Mother’s Hips’
‘Diet Gum’
‘Is He Strange?’
‘The Common Snipe’
‘Touch And Go’

John Grant will tour the UK in support of ‘Love Is Magic’ in October and November – find tickets here and see the full schedule below.


Oct 30 – O2 Academy Brixton, London
Oct 31 – Bath Forum, Bath
Nov 2 – Octagon, Sheffield
Nov 3 – Albert Hall, Manchester