The Man In Black is joined by Nick Cave and he covers Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode and others...

Johnny Cash will be joined by Nick Cave, Don Henley and Fiona Apple on a forthcoming new album which will see the Man In Black cover songs by artists such as The Beatles, Hank Williams and Nine Inch Nails.

The ailing great has teamed up again with producer Rick Rubin – the man who helmed Cash’s previous three albums – and will release ‘American IV: The Man Comes Around’ in November 5 in the US, according to Billboard. No release date has been fixed for the UK.

Speaking about the album title, which is lifted from one of three songs he has written for the album, Cash said: “It’s a spiritual about Judgement Day. The idea is there’s a man going around taking names, and he decides who to free and who to blame.”

Nick Cave appears on a cover of Hank Williams’ ‘I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry’ while Fiona Apple crops up on a version of Simon & Garfunkel’s ‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’. Don Henley appears on cover of The Eagles’ ‘Desperado’

In addition, Cash reworks old standards of his own ‘Give My Love To Rose’ and ‘Tear Stained Letter’ as well as having a run at Nine Inch Nails‘s ‘Hurt’ and Depeche Mode’s ‘Personal Jesus’.

The album rounds off a busy year of Cash releases. ‘The Essential Johnny Cash’ was released in the spring alongside a slew of early album re-releases, all to mark his 70th birthday.

The tracklisting for ‘American IV: The Man Comes Around’ runs:

‘The Man Comes Around’ (Cash)

‘Hurt’ (Nine Inch Nails)

‘Give My Love to Rose’ (Cash)

‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’ (Simon & Garfunkel)

‘I Hung My Head’ (Sting)

‘The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face’ (Ewan MacColl)

‘Personal Jesus’ (Depeche Mode)

‘In My Life’ (The Beatles)

‘Sam Hall’ (traditional)

‘Danny Boy’ (traditional)

‘Desperado’ (the Eagles)

‘I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry’ (Hank Williams)

‘The Streets of Laredo’ (traditional)

‘Tear Stained Letter’ (Cash)

‘We’ll Meet Again’ (Ink Spots)