The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion to release first new album in eight years

The band follow up 2004's 'Damage' with 'Meat and Bone'

The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion are set to release their first new album in eight years.

The 12 track ‘Meat And Bone’ will be released on September 17 and follows 2004’s ‘Damage’ – which was released under the shortened name of Blues Explosion. It features 12 tracks, and will be the band’s ninth LP. Scroll down to listen to the album’s opening track ‘Black Mold’.

Recorded at the Key Club Recording Studio in Benton Harbor, Michigan, the album was then mixed in New York. Of the album and the band, made up of Jon Spencer, Judah Bauer and Russell Simins, Spencer says:

We still have that psychic glue that allows us to create music together. Over the course of a year touring and writing new songs and recording, we rediscovered our shared history as a band. We circled the wagons, and went back to our roots. In a way this is almost like another first album.


The band released their debut, self-titled record in 1992.

The ‘Meat And Bone’ tracklisting is:

‘Black Mold’
‘Bag Of Bones’
‘Boot Cut’
‘Get Your Pants Off’
‘Ice Cream Killer’
‘Strange Baby’
‘Bottle Baby’
‘Black Thoughts’
‘Bear Trap’