Jonny Greenwood’s score for ‘There Will Be Blood’ is getting its first ever vinyl release

The Radiohead man's Grammy-nominated score is out in January

Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood‘s acclaimed score for the 2007 movie ‘There Will Be Blood’ is getting its first ever release on vinyl.

The music, which was nominated for a Grammy award in 2008, will be available via Nonesuch Records on January 18.

The first ever LP release of the soundtrack will include bonus tracks ‘Proven Lands (Intro.)’ and ‘De-Tuned Quartet’.


It was the first of a series of collaborations between Greenwood and Director Paul Thomas Anderson. The Radiohead man went on to produce music for Anderson’s ‘The Master’ (2012), ‘Inherent Vice’ (2014) and ‘Phantom Thread’ (2017).

Greenwood took the score on tour with him across the UK in 2017 for a series of live performances.

Meanwhile, Greenwood’s bandmate Thom Yorke recently released a film score of his own, for horror remake ‘Suspiria’.

During the promotion for the film, Yorke told BBC Radio 1 that he was “jealous” of Greenwood’s ability when it came to writing music for film.

“Jonny’s just so far ahead – he understands orchestration works, he can read music, he’s studied it all. I mean, he sits there studying scores,” he told DJ Phil Taggart.


“For Paul Thomas Anderson’s last film, he went away and read all the scores from the period of the composers of the time. That is not gonna happen with me because I can’t read music.”

Greenwood recently released the sheet music for another one of his original compositions. This one is titled ’88 (No.1)’ and was originally written in 2015.