Sigur Ros’s Jonsi to feature on soundtrack to new Scarlett Johansson film ‘We Bought A Zoo’

The Cameron Crowe curated soundtrack is released on March 19

Jonsi, frontman of Sigur Ros contributes new original music to the soundtrack of Cameron Crowe’s new film We Bought A Zoo.

The soundtrack to the Scarlett Johansson and Matt Damon vehicle will be released on March 19, following the film’s release on March 16. You can watch the film’s trailer at the top of the page.

The soundtrack, which was curated by director Crowe, was written and recorded last year at the Village Studios in Los Angeles as well as at Jonsi‘s home studio in Iceland. The album is made up of two new songs, nine themes and “re-imaginings” of tracks from Jonsi‘s 2010 solo release, ‘Go’.


Of the soundtrack Crowe said that Jonsi “arrived from Iceland with a toy sampler keyboard and a headful of ideas. Within a week, [he] had composed a series of themes that would reflect everything we’d hoped for. In his music were all the highs and lows and passionate in-betweens of the film itself. The instinct that made the movie come full circle.”

Crowe apparently encouraged the film’s stars to listen to specific songs by Jonsi on set in order to “create the right energy for a scene”. “The actors listened to the music during their takes; it quickly became part of the film’s DNA,” says Crowe.

The We Bought A Zoo soundtrack tracklisting is:

‘Why Not’
‘AEvin Endar’ – Jonsi
‘Boy Lilikoi’ – Jonsi
‘Sinking Friendships’ – Jonsi
‘We Bought A Zoo’
‘Hoppipolla’ – Sigur Ros
‘Go Do’ – Jonsi
‘Whole Made of Pieces’
‘First Day’
‘Gathering Stories’ – Jonsi