Julian Casablancas covers The Velvet Underground for ‘Vinyl’ soundtrack – listen

Casablancas takes on 'White Light, White Heat' for the Vinyl soundtrack.

Julian Casablancas has covered The Velvet Underground’s ‘White Light, White Heat’ for the Vinyl soundtrack.

The Strokes frontman Casablancas, who has already covered ‘Run, Run, Run’ by the same band for the HBO TV series, has based his cover on the version that appears on Lou Reed’s 1974 ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Animal’ live album.

In addition to Casablancas paying tribute to Lou Reed and the New York band, covers by Iggy Pop, Alison Mosshart of The Kills and Dan Auerbach’s The Arcs have also been revealed. Pop tackles Nervous Breakdown’s ‘I Dig Your Mind’, Mosshart does ‘My Time’s Coming’ by The Punks and Bobby Parker’s ‘Watch Your Step’ is covered by Black Keys man Auerbach.

Vinyl airs on Sky Atlantic in the UK and tells the story of the 1970s music industry through the eyes of a New York-based label boss. The full soundtrack for the series was released on February 12. ‘Vinyl: Music From the HBO Original Series — Volume 1’ features music from the opening episode of Vinyl including songs by Otis Redding, Sturgill Simpson, Mott the Hoople, and more.

David Johansen has re-recorded New York Dolls’ ‘Personality Crisis’ as the Vinyl theme song while ‘Rotten Apple’ is a song by The Nasty Bits, a fictional band from the series fronted by James Jagger’s character. James Jagger is the son of Mick Jagger, who produced Vinyl alongside Martin Scorsese and Terence Winter.

Since the first episode aired, HBO have releaed a digital EP every Friday before a new episode airs on the Sunday. A second full-length soundtrack, ‘Vinyl: Music From the HBO Original Series — Volume 1: Finale’, will then be released on April 15.