Listen to The Strokes’ Julian Casablancas cover Velvet Underground’s ‘Run Run Run’

Strokes front-man shares cover, taken from new Scorsese series 'Vinyl'

The Strokes singer Julian Casablancas has shared a cover version of The Velvet Underground‘s ‘Run Run Run’, written for new Martin Scorsese series Vinyl, it has been revealed today (February 19)

The track has appeared today via YouTube, which covers the hit, originally released by The Velvet Underground in 1967 and included on their seminal album The Velvet Underground and Nico.

The song was written for and appears on the soundtrack for Vinyl, HBO Television’s new drama about the 1970s music industry, written and created by Martin Scorsese, Mick Jagger, Rich Cohen, and Terence Winter. You can listen to Casablancas’ version – and the original 1967 version – below.


“From this we can glean that a fictionalized version of The Velvet Underground will be making an appearance in the series” writes Noisey on the new stream, “and we can also reveal that the person who plays Reed is the ex-drummer of The Drums.”

The likes of Royal Blood, Charli XCX and more have also been revealed to supply original music to the series’ soundtrack.

Earlier today, February 19, HBO announced it had renewed the rock drama for a second season.

Although episode one of the 1970s-set series only aired on Sunday (February 14) and attracted a disappointing audience of 760,000 to the network, HBO announced yesterday (February 18) that it has ordered a new batch of episodes to air in 2017.


In the UK, Vinyl began a day later than in the US and will continue to air on Sky Atlantic on Monday nights.

Jagger and Scorsese serve as executive producers on the series, which has been created by Terence Winter, the writer-producer behind Boardwalk Empire. Scorsese also directed its pilot episode.

Bobby Cannavale, who won an Emmy for his performance as Gyp Rosetti in season three of Boardwalk Empire, stars as Richie, a cocaine-addicted record executive trying to relaunch his label in New York as the new sounds of disco and punk bubble up from the underground.

The show’s ensemble cast also includes include Juno Temple, Ray Romano, Olivia Wilde, Andrew Dice Clay and Borgen‘s Birgitte Sorenson. Meanwhile, Mick Jagger’s son James has been cast as the singer of a fictional punk band called Nasty Bits. Check out the season one trailer below.


Juice WRLD, 1998-2019 – the NME obituary

The Chicago rapper has died from a seizure at the age of 21

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts