Of Montreal, Justice, Arcade Fire lead Plug Award nominations

Band Of Horses, The National, Spoon also get nods in 2008

Justice, Battles, Arcade Fire and Spoon have been nominated in several categories in the 2008 Plug Independent Music Awards.

Georgia band Of Montreal have the most nominations, competing in seven categories including Album Of The Year for ‘Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer?’ , Artist Of The Year and Song Of The Year for ‘Suffer For Fashion’.

Arcade Fire and Justice each received six nominations and will go up against Of Montreal for Artist, Song and Album Of The Year while Band Of Horses and The National each got five nods. El-P and Spoon are nominated in four categories.

Radiohead, Bat For Lashes and Liars are also nominated.

The ceremony takes place on February 8 at Terminal 5 in New York City.

Some nominees are:

Album Of The Year:

† (Downtown/Vice/Ed Banger) – Justice

100 Days, 100 Nights (Daptone) – Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings

Boxer (Beggars Banquet) – The National

Cease To Begin (Sub Pop) – Band Of Horses

Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga (Merge) – Spoon

Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer? (Polyvinyl) – Of Montreal

I’ll Sleep When You’re Dead (Definitive Jux) – El-P

In Rainbows (self-released) – Radiohead

Mirrored (Warp) – Battles

Neon Bible (Merge) – Arcade Fire

Person Pitch (Paw Tracks) – Panda Bear

The Flying Club Cup (Ba Da Bing) – Beirut

Artist Of The Year:

Animal Collective

Arcade Fire

Band Of Horses




Of Montreal

Okkervil River

Panda Bear



The National

New Artist Of The Year:

Bat For Lashes


Dan Deacon



Los Campesinos!

No Age

Sea Wolf

St. Vincent

Vampire Weekend

White Rabbits


Song Of The Year:

Atlas – Battles

Beautiful Life – Gui Boratto

Bros – Panda Bear

D.A.N.C.E. – Justice

Fake Empire – The National

Four Winds – Bright Eyes

Keep The Car Running – Arcade Fire

No Pussy Blues – Grinderman

Suffer For Fashion – Of Montreal

The Underdog – Spoon

Wet And Rusting – Menomena

You’re A Wolf – Sea Wolf

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.