Kaiser Chiefs: ‘Souvenir’ is us cleaning out the garden shed’

Ricky Wilson tells NME all about his band's 'impressive' new singles collection

Kaiser Chiefs frontman Ricky Wilson has spoken about his band’s brand new singles collection ‘Souvenir’, which comes out on Monday (June 4).

‘Souvenir: The Singles 2004 – 2012’ features 16 tracks in all, including two brand new tracks ‘Listen To Your Head’ and ‘On The Run’. The collection also includes material from across the band’s four studio albums and features hit singles ‘Oh My God’, ‘Ruby’, ‘I Predict A Riot’ and ‘Modern Way’.

Speaking to NME about the band’s motivation for putting out the singles collection, Wilson said he and his bandmates were convinced after being constantly told by their fans that they should.

Asked why they’d opted to release ‘Souvenir’ now, he replied: “People have been saying to us for ages at gigs that we should put out an album with all our hits on, because it would be amazing. So we have. The tracklisting even seems quite impressive to me and I’m in the band.”

The singer then said that he viewed the collection as “clearing out the garden shed” with a view to the band focusing on new material in the coming years.

He added: “We’ve got 16 singles now, including the two new ones and it seemed like a good number. Bands used to do this a lot more and more should do it. There’s such a fast turnaround of stuff now because of reality shows that so many acts don’t get far enough to be able to put out something like this. It’s clearing out the garden shed and making space for some new stuff.”

Then asked if it was viewed as something of a milestone, Wilson said his band were proud of getting this far.

He said: “We’re bracketing it as a singles collection from 2004 to 2012 and of all the bands we came up with from that time, we’re the first to make it this far, the first to do a substantial singles collection. I think people will be surprised by just how many of our songs they know.”

Kaiser Chiefs will play this summer’s Reading And Leeds Festivals, playing underneath The Black Keys and headliners Foo Fighters.

You can watch a video interview with the band from this year’s NME Awards by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and clicking.

The tracklisting for ‘Souvenir: The Singles 2004 – 2012’ is as follows:

‘Oh My God’
‘I Predict A Riot’
‘Never Miss A Beat’
‘Everything Is Average Nowadays’
‘The Angry Mob’
‘Listen To Your Head’
‘Every Day I Love You Less and Less’
‘Little Shocks’
‘Love’s Not A Competition (But I’m Winning)’
‘Good Days Bad Days’
‘On The Run’
‘You Can Have It All’
‘Modern Way’
‘Man On Mars’
‘Kinda Girl You Are’

Kaiser Chiefs are playing at this year’s T In The Park, which is taking place July 6-8 in Balado Park, Kinross. To check the availability of T In The Park 2012 tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.