Kaiser Chiefs release fan-compiled album ‘The Future Is Medieval’ today

Fans can build their own version of the LP by choosing tracklisting and artwork - and make a profit each time it's sold

Kaiser Chiefs have released their new album ‘The Future Is Medieval’ today (June 3) – and have given fans the opportunity to build their own version of the LP by compiling the tracklisting on kaiserchiefs.com.

By paying £7.50 to download the record, listeners will be able to essentially create their own unique version of the album by choosing their favourite 10 tracks from the selection of 20 on offer, as well as being able to create their own artwork.

They will also be able to share their version of the record with other people once it has been created, and earn £1 each time it is purchased by someone else.


Frontman Ricky Wilson said: “Is it the future of music? We can’t tell you that. If people want to compare it to Radiohead, that’s their business. But we hope it might be a catalyst for other people to try similar things. Mix it up a bit.”

Drummer Nick Hodgson added: “As a band, in terms of the record we’d each choose to create, we probably have a crossover of about five. The same five would appear in everyone’s top five. Then the rest would be according to each member’s taste.

“It was a great way of working, because you didn’t have to think about what you wanted to say so much. You could concentrate on making the song true to itself, rather than making it fit some bigger picture. You didn’t need to think where it would fit within a running order or a theme.”

The 20 tracks listeners can choose from are:

‘Back In December’
‘Can’t Mind My Own Business’
‘Child Of The Jago’
‘Coming Up For Air’
‘Cousin In The Bronx’
‘Dead Or In Serious Trouble’
‘Fly On The Wall’
‘Heard It Break’
‘I Dare You’
‘If You Will Have Me’
‘Little Shocks’
‘Long Way From Celebrating’
‘Man On Mars’
‘My Place Is Here’
‘Out Of Focus’
‘Problem Solved’
‘Saying Something’
‘Starts With Nothing’
‘Things Change’


‘The Future Is Medieval’ is the fourth studio album from Kaiser Chiefs, and is the follow-up to 2008’s ‘Off With Their Heads’. Earlier this week, they released their single ‘Little Shocks’ online – scroll down to see the video.

Kaiser Chiefs will play two intimate shows at Falmouth Princes Pavillion on June 7 and June 8, as well as a headline show at London‘s Electric Ballroom on June 16. They have also confirmed slots at Glastonbury, V Festival and the Isle Of Wight Festival.

To check the availability of Kaiser Chiefs tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.

Kaiser Chiefs should be saluted for doing something different