Kaiser Chiefs forced to reschedule January tour dates following illness

The band are "very sorry for the inconvenience"

Kaiser Chiefs have been forced to reschedule some of their upcoming tour dates due to illness.

The band were due to kick off their UK tour this week in Liverpool, Newcastle and Glasgow. However, a post on the band’s social media pages revealed that the dates were being rescheduled due to an “unforeseen illness.”

The band added that they were “very sorry for the inconvenience” and that all tickets would still be valid for the shows, which have been rescheduled for June. You can see the affected dates below.

Last September, the band confirmed the release of their seventh album at the same time as announcing a lengthy UK tour.

The Yorkshire indie veterans revealed that they would be following up 2016’s ‘Stay Together’ with a new record due in the new year, as they return to their original major record label Polydor. The 20-date tour was planned to help launch the album.

Ricky Wilson

Kaiser Chiefs’ Ricky Wilson

Speaking to NME earlier this year about their plans for their next album, frontman Ricky Wilson said: “The cards are looking up. We’re writing, we’re always writing. We’re touring, we’re always touring.

“We’re signing a new deal. We’re making another record. When it comes out, we’ll do the rounds saying that it’s the best one ever – like we always do.”

The remaining dates for the Kaiser Chief’s tour, plus the rescheduled dates, are as follows:

Monday January 28, 2019 – LINCOLN Engine Sheds
Tuesday January 29, 2019 – CARLISLE Sands Cetnre
Thursday January 31, 2019 – BLACKBURN King Georges Hall
Friday February 1, 2019 – MANCHESTER O2 Apollo
Saturday February 2, 2019 – BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy Birmingham
Monday February 4, 2019 – LLANDUDNO Venure Cymru
Tuesday February 5, 2019 – BATH Pavilion
Wednesday February 6, 2019 – READING Hexagon
Friday February 8, 2019 – LONDON O2 Academy Brixton
Saturday February 9, 2019 – STOKE Victoria Hall
Sunday February 10, 2019 – NORWICH UEA
Tuesday February 12, 2019 – CAMBRIDGE Corn Exchange
Wednesday February 13, 2019 – NOTTINGHAM Rock City
Friday February 15, 2019 – EXETER Uni Great Hall
Saturday February 16, 2019 – SOUTHAMPTON Guilhall
Sunday February 17, 2019 – SOUTHEND Cliffs Pavilion
Tuesday February 19, 2019 – MARGATE Winter Gardens
Wednesday February 20, 2019 – BAXHILL De La Warr Pavilion
Tuesday June 4, 2019 – LIVERPOOL, Uni Mountford Hall
Wednesday June 5, 2019 – NEWCASTLE, O2 Academy
Thursday June 6, 2019 – GLASGOW, Barrowlands