Kanye West has ’20 finished songs’ for new album, reveals co-writer

Chicago musician Malik Yusef has worked with West throughout his career

Kanye West reportedly has “20 finished songs” for his new record, according to co-writer Malik Yusef.

Yusef, who first worked with West back in 2003 on his own track ‘Wouldn’t You Like To Ride’ and has since collaborated with him on a number of tracks, including Grammy Award-winning 2011 single ‘All Of The Lights’, is currently working with West on the follow-up to 2013’s ‘Yeezus’.

Speaking about the sessions, Yusef said West is well into the recording process and compared the album so far to a pair of Timberland boots. “This album is different. It’s like a pair of Timberlands; like how Timberlands are not quite leather and not quite suede. It’s not the smooth, slick Chicago music sound we have right now and it’s not the ruggedness of just ‘hip-hop hip-hop hip-hop’,” he said regarding the as-yet-untitled record. “We’re still working like a motherfucker. We’ve been all around the world [recording].”

Yusuf refused to comment on which tracks would make the cut, saying, “Your favourite title may not even make it on the album.” He did, however, tell Rolling Stone that the process had been less argumentative than the pair’s work on ‘Yeezus’. “We fought over ‘Yeezus’ every day,” he admitted. “There was no friendly disagreements. It was definitely a war. It’s: ‘I don’t give a fuck, Malik. It’s a Kanye album, not a Malik Yusef album.’ Kanye’s kicked me off the label eight times.”

Previously, West said he wanted his forthcoming seventh studio LP to come out by September. “I think most likely September,” he said earlier in the year, regarding a release date. “I go back and forth. Like, should it be September or should it be October? Should it be November? But then I’m like, I have to work on Adidas and be with my child.”

There is currently no confirmed release date for the LP.