Kanye West’s new album will feature ‘soul samples and nothing abrasive’, sources claim

'Yeezus' follow up is expected to be released later this year

Kanye West‘s next album will feature 12 tracks and a mixture of soul samples and “nothing abrasive”, according to reports.

West previously confirmed that he wants to release the album this summer and is believed to be recording the record between Florence, Italy and Los Angeles. Producers who have confirmed they are currently working with West include Mike Will Made It, Q-Tip and Rick Rubin.

A source close to Billboard has more information on the sound of the album, saying that as of two-weeks ago, there’s 12 songs on the LP and that half of the record is “mostly a mixture of soul samples and tamed ‘Yeezus’-esque darkness… nothing abrasive.”

Speaking earlier this year, West said: “I haven’t named my next album, but I have started on it. I always write down philosophies all the time, so I’ll just have some thoughts and every time I think of it I write, and I’m just collecting beats, I’m just constantly working. I’d like to put out more product, I’d like have another album out by next summer.”

West recently postponed a tour of Australia to stay in the studio and finish the album. Meanwhile, British producer Evian Christ, who worked on 2013 album ‘Yeezus’, said he too is working on the rapper’s follow up, stating: “He wants something that sounds a bit like Otis Redding, a bit like Mobb Deep.”