Kanye West’s GOOD Music compilation album confirmed for September release

'Cruel Summer' will be released on September 4

The release date for Kanye West‘s forthcoming GOOD Music compilation has been confirmed for September 4.

The album, titled ‘Cruel Summer’ will feature acts signed to West’s record label including Mr Hudson, Pusha T, 2 Chainz, Kid Cudi, Big Sean as well as the rapper himself. Frank Ocean and Q Tip are also rumoured to feature.

Pusha T previously let slip that the album would drop in August, but it now has an official release date, Pitchfork reports.

So far, the track ‘Mercy’ has been revealed from the record, which you can watch below. Also likely to appear on the album is West’s collaboration with Pusha T ‘New God Flow’ which debuted online earlier this month (July 2).

An experimental 30-minute film inspired by the album, which is also titled also titled ‘Cruel Summer’ made its debut in Cannes last month. The film, which was projected onto seven screens inside a pyramid-shaped tent, stars hip-hop artist and actor Kid Cudi as a car thief who falls in love with a blind Arabian princes.

Earlier this month, producer No ID – who worked with West on his most recent albums ‘808s & Heartbreak’, ‘My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy’ and ‘Watch The Throne’ – said that West is also working on his next solo album.