NASA album featuring Kanye West, MIA gets release date

Star-studded 'The Spirit Of Apollo' is due out in February

NASA have revealed the tracklisting and release date for their highly anticipated forthcoming album featuring Kanye West, MIA, Tom Waits, Yeah Yeah YeahsKaren O and David Byrne, among others.

The album, which is the culmination of five years of work by Squeak E Clean and DJ Zegon who make up NASA (North America/South America), is called ‘The Spirit Of Apollo’ and is due out in the US on February 17, 2009.

Santogold, CSSLovefoxx, Spank Rock, John Frusciante of Red Hot Chili Peppers and George Clinton are also featured on the 17-track album.

“It seems that almost everyone I’ve asked to be on the record has been really down for music just for inspiration, it’s not about cash or anything,” Squeak E Clean, whose real name is Sam Spiegel, told NME.COM. “It was like, ‘Oh cool, I like this music, I wanna be involved.'”

The duo travelled thousands of miles across continents to lay down tracks with their “musical heroes.”

The album tracklisting is:


‘The People Tree’ (feat. David Byrne, Chali 2na, Gift of Gab,& Z-Trip)

‘Money’ (feat. David Byrne, Chuck D, Ras Congo, Seu Jorge, & Z-Trip)

‘NASA Music’ (feat. Method Man, E-40, & DJ Swamp)

‘Way Down’ (feat. RZA, Barbie Hatch, & John Frusciante)

‘Hip Hop’ (feat. KRS-One, Fatlip, & Slim Kid Tre)

‘Four Rooms, Earth View’

‘Strange Enough’ (feat. Karen O, Ol’ Dirty Bastard, & Fatlip)

‘Spacious Thoughts’ (feat. Tom Waits & Kool Keith)

‘Gifted’ (feat. Kanye West and others TBD)

‘A Volta’ (feat. Sizzla, Amanda Blank, & Lovefoxxx)

‘There’s a Party’ (feat. George Clinton & Chali 2na)

‘Whachadoin?’ (feat. Spank Rock, M.I.A., Santogold & Nick Zinner)

‘O Pato’ (feat. Kool Kojak & DJ Bãboa)

‘Samba Soul’ (feat. Del Tha Funkee Homosapien & DJ Qbert)

‘The Mayor’ (feat. The Cool Kids, Ghostface Killah, DJ AM & Scarface)

‘N.A.S.A. Anthem’

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.