Kanye West and others pen new music for Nas’s movie ‘The Land’

Nas, Pusha T and Erykah Badu also feature

Kanye West, among other artists, has been announced as penning part of the soundtrack for the new Nas-produced film, The Land.

A trailer for the movie was released on Thursday (5 May), revealing all the artists who have written brand new music for it. Including – as well as Kanye – Nas, Erykah Badu, French Montana, Machine Gun Kelly, Pusha T, Jeremih, Ezzy and Nosaj Thing.

The Land, which is the debut feature written and directed by Stephen Caple Jr, depicts the life of a young skateboarder aspiring to headier heights than “the hood” he inhabits in Cleveland, Ohio.


Watch the trailer below:

In recent news, Kanye has been named Webby Artist Of The Year for reaching “incredible digital heights” with his internet presence.

The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, which has been handing out Webby Awards for excellence on the internet since 1996, hailed the rapper for “changing the cultural paradigm of how music is shared, released, presented and consumed”.

West’s decision to premiere his album ‘The Life Of Pablo’ as a Tidal exclusive was singled out for praise by the Academy, as was his G.O.O.D. Friday series of weekly track releases, which began in 2010.

“As an unmissable voice online and an unstoppable force in the digital music arena, it is our privilege to honour him as 2016’s Webby Artist of the Year,” the Academy said.