Kasabian preview new album at Oxegen

The Leicester rockers play eight new songs

Kasabian closed Oxegen by treating their fans to a sneak preview of their forthcoming second album ‘Empire’.

The band, who were added to the bill at the last minute, performed a blinding 13 track set which included eight new songs in the Pet Sounds stage tonight (July 9).

Arriving onstage to a packed tent, singer Tom Meighan declared: “How are you all fucking feeling? Oh yeah we’re back alright you fuckers,” before the band tore into a 70 minute set which included new songs ‘Shoot The Runner’, ‘The Doberman’, ‘Stuntman’, the album title track and fan favourites ‘LSF’, ‘Cut Off’ and ‘Club Foot’.

Also headlining tonight were Primal Scream, Richard Ashcroft, and James Brown.

Ashcroft‘s uplifting set saw the former Verve singer rolling off the likes of ‘Music Is Power’ and ‘Break The Night With Colour’ off his new album along with Verve classic ‘The Drugs Don’t Work’.

The Strokes drew one of the biggest crowds to the main stage for a blistering 70 minute set which saw singer Julian Casablancas rolling around the bottom of the stage and singing into the crowd for ‘New York City Cops’ before he was hit by an Irish flag.

The Who followed with their first set in Ireland since the full line up peformed in the city 35 years ago while Editors took to the NME stage for an hour set.

Earlier in the evening on the main stage, Arctic Monkeys made their return to Ireland for the first time since marking the release of their debut ‘Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not’ with an NME Awards Tour Show in Dublin back in January.

Their Irish comeback coincided with another notable benchmark for guitarist Jamie Cook – his 21st birthday.

Cook took to the Main Stage at a rain drenched Oxegen as Alex Turner pointed to him and called on the audience for “no miserable faces as it’s this guy’s 21st”.

Continuing his onslaught the Monkey’s frontman stalled during second song ‘Still Take You Home’, as the rain continued to fall, to proclaim “tell you what, I think sunshine’s for pussys” before saying of those in the campsite – “ they’re all wankers who are sat up there in their tents.”

As the Monkey’s wowed the main stage Carl Barat’s Dirty Pretty Things suffered notably in attendance with the notable highlights arriving in rousing renditions of Libertines classics ‘Death On The Stairs’ and ‘I Get Along’ before the screens on either side of the stage dropped from a height in light of the blustery conditions.

The Automatic meanwhile wowed the New Bands Tent with a typically blistering high energy performance beginning with ‘Keep Your Eyes Peeled’ and a spectacular ‘Recover’ which saw keyboardist Alex Pennie deliver a customary manic rail from each edge of the stage before finale – and indie anthem of the Summer – ‘Monster’ closed a set befitting of their future headline slot aspirations.

Elsewhere, Lily Allen performed a crowd pleasing rendition of what looks almost certain to be her first Number One hit single, ‘Smile’ in front of a packed audience in between swigging a can of beer and smoking the odd cigarette or two in the New Band Tent before The Futureheads performed a frantic set, which included recent single ‘Skip To The End’, in the Green Room.

We Are Scientists were delayed by a minor speaker hitch for their 45 minute set but managed to perform a series of hits from their debut album.

Click back for more NME.COM updates when Oxegen continues again tomorrow (July 9).