Kate Bush to release new live album

Marathon live set is taken from Bush's 2014 London residency

Kate Bush is to release a new live album, taken from the singer’s 22-show run at London’s Hammersmith Apollo in 2014.

Billed as The KT Fellowship rather than as a solo Bush release, ‘Before The Dawn’ is out on November 25. It’s available as a 3CD or 4LP set.

‘Before The Dawn’ is themed as a triple album, with each album marking different sections of the concert Bush performed two years ago. ‘Act One’ comprises of a seven-song set from throughout Bush’s career, including ‘Hounds Of Love’ and ‘Running Up That Hill’.



‘Act Two’ comprises the songs from side two of Bush’s 1985 album ‘Hounds Of Love’, a sequence of songs collectively titled ‘The Ninth Wave’. This includes the spoken-word track ‘The Astronomer’s Call’.

‘Act Three’ consists of the songs from side two of Bush’s 2005 album ‘Aerial’, known as ‘A Sky Of Honey’. It also includes ‘Tawny Moon’, a new song sung by Bush’s son Bertie McIntosh, which gets its first official release on the live album. ‘Act Three’ – spread across the final two vinyl albums – also includes the show’s encore of ‘Among Angels’ and ‘Cloudbusting’.

‘Before The Dawn’ includes one song, ‘Never Be Mine’, which Bush didn’t actually perform at any of her concerts. It’s thought this is taken from her rehearsals of the shows. The original version of ‘Never Be Mine’ is from Bush’s 1989 album ‘The Sensual World’.

There is no DVD/Blu-Ray release of the album, with no official visual footage as yet released of the concerts. The shows marked Bush’s first gigs since her only tour, which took place in 1979. Bush said during the shows that they would be her last live performances “for a little while”.

The 1979 tour spawned an EP, ‘On Stage’, and a VHS video, ‘Live At Hammersmith Odeon’. The video was eventually reissued in 1994 to include an audio live album of the show.


Bush’s most recent studio album was ’50 For Words For Snow’ in 2011.

The tracklisting for ‘Before The Dawn’ is:
‘Hounds Of Love’
‘Top Of The City’
‘Never Be Mine’
‘Running Up That Hill’
‘King Of The Mountain’
‘The Astronomer’s Call’
‘And Dream Of Sheep’
‘Under Ice’
‘Waking The Witch’
‘Watching Them Without Her’
‘Watching You Without Me’
‘Little Light’
‘Jig Of Life’
‘Hello Earth’
‘This Morning Fog’
‘An Architect’s Dream’
‘The Painter’s Link’
‘Aerial Tal’
‘Somewhere In Between’
‘Tawny Moon’
‘Among Angels’