Katy Perry streams new album ‘Prism’ online ahead of release

US pop star's third album features the Number One single 'Roar'

Katy Perry‘s new album ‘Prism’ is streaming online ahead of it’s release next week (October 21).

‘Prism’ is the US pop star’s third album and follows the hugely successful ‘Teenage Dream’, released in 2010. Perry’s Number One single ‘Roar’ appears on the album as well as ‘Dark Horse’, a collaboration with US rapper Juicy J. The album can be streamed now via Idolator.

Earlier this year Katy Perry said that she will “turn into more of a Joni Mitchell” as her career progresses, claiming she is planning on swapping her trademark pop sound for a folkier direction in the future. “I love Madonna to death, but she’s never going to give me that damn baton,” she said. “I’ll probably turn into more of a Joni Mitchell. As I inch towards my 30s, I think my fourth record will be more of an acoustic guitar album.”


Perry debuted new material from ‘Prism’ at the closing night of this year’s iTunes Festival at London’s Roundhouse on September 30. During the gig, Perry said that the track ‘By The Grace Of God’, had never been heard before.

In it, Perry appeared to reveal intimate details about her personal life following the dissolution of her marriage to British comedian Russell Brand in 2011. It included a line thanking her sister for her support, “Thank my sister for keeping my head above the water – when the truth was like swallowing sand”, and suggests that the singer had been having suicidal thoughts. The ballad ended with the line, “I looked in the mirror and decided to stay.”

The ‘Prism’ tracklisting is:

‘Legendary Lovers’
‘Walking On Air’
‘Dark Horse’ (Featuring Juicy J)
‘This Is How We Do’
‘International Smile’
‘Love Me’
‘This Moment’
‘Double Rainbow’
‘By The Grace Of God’