Bloc Party’s Kele Okereke to release new solo EP

'The Hunter' is the follow-up to last year's 'The Boxer'

Kele has revealed details of a new solo EP.

The sometime Bloc Party frontman Kele Okereke continues his electronic voyage with the seven-track collection ‘The Hunter’, out October 31 through Wichita. He works once again with producer XXXChange, who also worked on last year’s full-length album ‘The Boxer’.

The lead track ‘What Did I Do?’, which debuted yesterday (September 12) sees Kele step away from the mic, giving lead vocal to singer Lucy Taylor. Other collaborators on the EP include Sub Focus, Fred Falke, RAC and QNESS.


Alongside six original songs is a cover of ‘Goodbye Horses’, the 1988 song by Q Lazzarus. According to its writer William Garvey, the song is about “transcendence over those who see the world as only earthly and finite. The horses represent the five senses from Hindu philosophy and the ability to lift one’s perception above these physical limitations and to see beyond this limited Earthly perspective”.

The full tracklisting for ‘The Hunter’ is:

‘What Did I Do? feat Lucy Taylor’
‘Release Me’
‘Goodbye Horses’
‘Cable’s Goodbye’
‘Love As A Weapon’
‘You Belong To Someone Else’

Watch Kele discuss his and Bloc Party‘s future plans by clicking on the video below.