King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard release their fifth album of 2017

That's 13 albums in just five years.

Back in November 2016, King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard promised to release five albums in 2017, and they made good on those plans with just over a day of the year left.

The band launched ‘Gumboot Soup’ yesterday (December 30), and it follows the year’s previous releases ‘Flying Microtonal Banana’, ‘Murder of the Universe’, ‘Sketches of Brunswick East’ and ‘Polygondwanaland’.

That makes ‘Gumboot Soup’ the band’s 13th studio album released in just five years – and you can hear it in full on YouTube below:


The full tracklisting of ‘Gumboot Soup’ is as follows:

1. Beginner’s Luck
2. Greenhouse Heat Death
3. Barefoot Desert
4. Muddy Water
5. Superposition
6. Down The Sink
7. The Great Chain Of Being
8. The Last Oasis
9. All Is Known
10. I’m Sleepin’ In
11. The Wheel

As well as being streamed on YouTube, the album is available now via Bandcamp and Spotify.

A physical release will follow next year on Flightless Records, with two limited-edition vinyl versions of the album now available for pre-order.

Gumboot Soup
Gumboot Soup (Flightless)


Both the Spiced Pumpkin edition (limited to 3,000 and with an orange and black swirl) and Gumboot Death edition (limited to 3,000 and with a half opaque red & half clear transparent wax with blood red splatter) come with a free MP3 download.

‘Gumboot Soup’s immediate predecessor ‘Polygondwanaland’ had an especially unusual method of release.

The band shared digital, CD and vinyl masters of each song for free and allowed fans to distribute and sell their own copies.

“We do not own this record. You do. Go forth, share, enjoy.”

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard were flagged by NME as one of the hidden gems of this year’s Glastonbury festival ahead of their set on the John Peel Stage.



You May Like