Kings Of Leon guitarist says his mother asks fans how to download band’s music

Band release seventh album 'Walls' in October

Kings Of Leon speak in a new interview ahead of their upcoming seventh album, with guitarist Matthew Followill revealing that his mother asks fans how she can download their music.

The band release new record ‘Walls’ on October 14, the follow-up to 2013’s ‘Mechanical Bull’.

Speaking to Pete Donaldson on Absolute Radio, Matthew Followill – cousin of his bandmates – revealed that his mother “still hasn’t heard the [new] record”.


“She tweeted the other day to some kids asking them if they knew how to download our new single,” he added.

Drummer Nathan Followill, meanwhile, discussed the prospect of his daughter getting into rock music: “Something tells me I want to keep my daughter as far away from bands as humanly possible. I dread the day when she’s like, ‘Daddy, I like the drummer.’ I will be like, ‘No, you don’t’. You will be the Business Manager or the Attorney.”

Elsewhere in the interview, Matthew Followill spoke about the current state of US politics, saying: “Anyone that says they know what’s going on right now in America political-wise, they’re lying. I don’t even think the candidates themselves really know what’s going on. It’s going to come down to literally who gets the most votes. If I was in Vegas right now and I had to bet who’s going to win it, I seriously would just go for bust.”

The band’s seventh studio album was recorded in Los Angeles with Coldplay and Arcade Fire producer Markus Dravs. ‘Walls’ is said to be short for ‘We Are Like Love Songs’.

The band appeared on Jools Holland last night, debuting a new song called ‘Around The World’. They have also shared their lead single ‘Waste A Moment’.

READ: World Exclusive Comeback Interview: How Kings Of Leon Rebuilt Their Family – And Their Sound.


You can see the full tracklisting for ‘Walls’ below.

‘Waste A Moment’
‘Around The World’
‘Find Me’
‘Conversation Piece’
‘Eyes On You’