Listen to Kings Of Leon’s comeback single ‘Waste A Moment’

Band tell NME they’re back to their best on new album 'Walls'

Kings Of Leon have posted the first track from their forthcoming new album ‘Walls’.

The song ‘Waste A Moment’ is the first from this week’s NME cover stars’ new record, which is released on October 14 through Columbia Records.

The follow-up to 2013’s ‘Mechanical Bull’, the band’s seventh studio album was recorded in Los Angeles with Coldplay and Arcade Fire producer Markus Dravs. ‘Walls’ is said to be short for ‘We Are Like Love Songs’. You can listen to the track below.


The band admitted to NME that they became “business partners” rather than a proper band during the height of their success.

Speaking in the new issue – which is available nationwide today (September 9) – singer Caleb Followill said: “After a while, it’s not ‘I’m going to do an interview with my brother’, it’s ‘I’m going to do an interview with the drummer’. When you get together, it’s never ‘We are the band’. We lost that.”

READ: World Exclusive Comeback Interview: How Kings Of Leon Rebuilt Their Family – And Their Sound.

Followill added that the band’s familial relationship eventually broke down, saying: “There were a lot of moments when we weren’t talking. It was ‘Man, we’ve become business partners. We haven’t maintained our friendship and our brotherhood, everything that we are.”

Bassist Jared Followill said that having money to travel separately gave each other privacy, but also meant they stopped hanging out. He said: “We’d only see each other for the hour-and-a-half before a show. We went too far in the other direction. If you’re going to be friends and family, you can’t really be a band, or we can’t be this band.”


You can see the full tracklisting for ‘Walls’ below.

‘Waste A Moment’
‘Around The World’
‘Find Me’
‘Conversation Piece’
‘Eyes On You’

You can also hear a snippet of new music from ‘Walls’ through the album teaser trailer below.

READ: Kings Of Leon: Their Ten Best Songs.