The Kooks return with two new tracks

'No Pressure' and 'All The Time' mark the first tasters of a forthcoming fifth album

The Kooks have returned with two new tracks, and news of a forthcoming album.

‘No Pressure’ and ‘All The Time’ are the first tasters of the band’s fifth record ‘Let’s Go Sunshine’, a release which frontman Luke Pritchard calls “our most exciting album” yet. It’s due for release on August 31.


The band first hit the studio in 2015, picking up where their last album ‘Listen’ – which came out the previous year – left off. However, The Kooks later scrapped an entire album’s worth of material, Pritchard explains in a press release.

“[We] discovered it wasn’t what we wanted to make and wasn’t really The Kooks,” the vocalist says. “So we scrapped it and started again. I really went on a mission to write the best songs I’d ever written before bringing them to the band.  I stewed over every word.  It had to be our ‘Rubber Soul’, ‘Lola’, ‘Definitely Maybe’,” he adds, citing three classic records. “Proper British lineage.”

“I came from a dark place at the start, had a lotta heartbreak, and then falling in love in the middle of the album…the lyrics reflect that,” Pritchard adds. “From ‘Fractured And Dazed’ to ‘No Pressure’, it’s gotta be our most exciting album, and it should get you dancing.”

The Kooks have also shared the tracklisting for their fifth album ‘Let’s Go Sunshine’.

1. Intro
2. Kids
3. All The Time
4. Believe
5. Fractured and Dazed
6. Chicken Bone
7. Four Leaf Clover
8. Tesco Disco
9. Honey Bee
10. Initials For Gainsbourg
11. Pamela
12. Picture Frame
13. Swing Low
14. Weight of the World
15. No Pressure


The Kooks also performed ‘All The Time’ live on The One Show, and gave a glimpse into their studio during the recording of ‘Let’s Go Sunshine’. “It started like a Blues number, I was thinking about the tussle of love,” he told presenter Carrie Grant, and also spoke about losing his father when he was young.