Ex-Late Of The Pier musician La Priest streams new track ‘Lorry Park’ – listen

Sam Dust releases new album 'Inji' on June 29

La Priest, the new project from Late Of The Pier musician Sam Dust, has shared a new track from his upcoming debut album.

Dust was a member of the fourpiece dance-punk outfit from 2004 until their split in 2010. His band released their debut album ‘Fantasy Black Channel’ in 2008, with NME‘s Tim Chester writing at the time, “It’s ludicrousness par excellence. With the arrival of ‘Fantasy Black Channel’ – four young men given free rein over four studios – it’s time to hail the new age of anything-goes ridiculousness.”

Dust will now release full-length ‘Inji’ on June 29 via Domino. A press release cites Arthur Russell and David Byrne as influences on the LP.

Listen to new track ‘Lorry Park’ below.

Dust’s former bandmate, Late Of The Pier drummer Ross Dawson passed away last month (May 21). Dawson was “involved in a very sudden and tragic accident”. Dawson’s family wrote at the time: “Ross was a monumental force in the lives of everybody who knew him, multi-talented, modest, kind and generous; he loved and was loved by his family. The world has become a sadder place without him. He will be eternally missed by all who knew and loved him.”

The likes of Franz Ferdinand frontman Alex Kapranos, Jack Savidge of Friendly Fires and the Guillemots‘ Fyfe Dangerfield have remembered the musician via social media.

Erol Alkan , who produced the band’s debut album and whose Phantasy label released their early music, wrote on Twitter, “We lost our friend Ross Dawson this week, a talented, beautiful and kind man. His music lives on. Heartbroken.”

The ‘Inji’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Lady’s In Trouble With The Law’
‘Gene Washes With New Arm’
‘Party Zute / Learning To Love’
‘Lorry Park’
‘Night Train’
‘A Good Sign’