Laura Jane Grace of Against Me! shares first track from new project The Devouring Mothers

The band's debut album is out later this year

Against Me! vocalist Laura Jane Grace has shared the first track by her new side project Laura Jane Grace and the Devouring Mothers. You can hear ‘Apocalypse Now (& Later)’ below.

The band also features Against Me!’s drummer Atom Willard and bassist Marc Jacob Hudson. The three piece will release their debut album ‘Bought To Rot’ on November 9 via Bloodshot Records.


According to a press release, the record was inspired by “Grace’s fractured relationship with her adopted hometown of Chicago, true friendship, complicated romance, and reconciling everything in the end.”

The musician was inspired by Tom Petty‘s ‘Full Moon Fever’, and is now the same age as when the singer released his debut solo LP. She was “motivated to pay homage to one of her lifelong heroes” on what is described as her “most musically diverse collection of songs”.

The album’s artwork features a snippet of a text conversation, which says: “The album is called “Bought To Rot”… Laura Jane Grace and the Devouring Mothers… Although I was kind of thinking Laura Jane Grace Vs. The Devouring Mothers.”

The trio will be supporting the album’s release with a short run of dates, concluding with three intimate shows in Grace’s hometown of Chicago. Her relationship with the city was a key influence on the new record.

Grace was last in action with the full Against Me! line-up for their 2016 album ‘Shape Shift With Me‘. That year also saw the publication of Grace’s memoir Tranny: Confessions Of Punk Rock’s Most Infamous Anarchist Sellout.


The tracklisting for ‘Bought To Rot’ is as follows:

China Beach
Born in Black
The Airplane Song
Apocalypse Now (& Later)
Reality Bites
Amsterdam Hotel Room
The Friendship Song
I Hate Chicago
Screamy Dreamy
Manic Depression
The Acid Test Song
The Hotel Song
Valeria Golina
The Apology Song

You May Like