The stars pay tribute to the cult singer/singwriter...

JARVIS COCKER, Lambchop, EVAN DANDO and members of TINDERSTICKS are amongst the artists to feature on a forthcoming tribute album to legendary songwriter and producer LEE HAZLEWOOD.

‘Total Lee’ will appear on June 3 through City Slang and will feature each of the artists covering their favourite Hazlewood moment.

A similar tribute record had been mooted in the early 1990s, with Nirvana


and Mudhoney mentioned as contributors, but it never saw the light of day.

A second Hazlewood album will be released on June 3. ‘For Every Solution There Is A Problem’ will be a collection of previously unreleased recordings made over the last 25 years by Hazlewood and his long-time collaborator Al Casey.

Hazlewood is probably best known as the man

who wrote ‘These Boots Were Made For Walking’ and ‘Some Velvet Morning’ for Nancy Sinatra, as well as produced the original ‘Somethin’ Stupid’ with Nancy and her father Frank. But the maverick’s long and winding career also saw him discover guitar-great Duane Eddy and helped shape the early career of Phil Spector.

The full tracklisting for ‘Total Lee’ is:

‘Never Had A Gun’ – Lambchop


‘Come On Home To Me’ – Madrugada

‘Some Velvet Morning’ – The Webb Brothers

‘Sundown’ – Calexico with Valerie Leuillot

‘Sleep In The Grass’ – Johnny Dowd

‘Got It Back Together Again’ – St Etienne

‘The Railroad’ – St Thomas

‘The Cheat’ – Jarvis Cocker and Richard Hawley

‘No Train To Stockholm’ – Erlend Oye (of Kings Of Convenience)

‘Soul’s Island’ – The Amazing Pilots

‘Easy & Me’ – Kathryn Williams

‘We All Make The Little Flowers Grow’ – Stephen Jones and Luke Scott

‘Sand’ – Calvin Johnson and Mark Pickerel

‘Summer Wine’ – Evan Dando and Sabrina Brooke

‘If It’s Monday Morning’ – Kid Loco with Tim Keegan

You May Like